
CHECK CASHING 
REGISTRATION FORM 

STATE OF UTAH 
Department of Financial Institutions 

324 South State Street, Suite 201, SLC, UT 84111 

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 146800, Salt Lake City, UT  84114-6800 
www.dfi.utah.gov Fax: (801) 538-8894 Tel: (801) 538-8830 

 
1)  Principal Business Office Address Do Not Write In This Space 

If you cash checks for consideration, in Utah or with Utah residents, you are subject to the Check Cashing and Deferred Deposit 
Lending Registration Act, codified as Title 7 Chapter 23. You are exempt from this act if you are a depository institution, a depository 
institution holding company or directly or indirectly owned or controlled by a depository institution or depository institution holding 
company; or a person that cashes a check in a transaction that is incidental to the retail sale of goods or services and for consideration 
that does not exceed the greater of 1% of the amount of the check or $1. 

CHECK CASHING REGISTRATION FEE AND BUREAU OF CRIMINAL IDENTIFICATION (BCI) CERTIFICATE 

Complete all information on this form, sign it, and return it to the Department of Financial Institutions at the above address with the 
initial registration fee of $300 in the form of a check or money order made payable to: Department of Financial Institutions. If not 

previously submitted, a BCI certificate must be submitted to the Department for officers, directors, managers, operators, (one who 
has any part in cashing a check). For Utah residents the BCI telephone number is (801) 965-4445. Residents of other states should 
obtain a criminal history review from their state government. 

 2) Name registered with the Utah Division of Corporations   

 3) Name of check cashing business   

 4) Employer Identification number (EIN)   

 5) List all states where you are registered or licensed as a check casher   

 6) On a separate page list addresses, phone numbers, and hours of operations for all offices in Utah (no mobile facilities allowed). Any office additions 
or deletions require prompt notification to the Department. 

 7) Name of person responsible for complaint resolution and examination findings response   

Address, City, State, Zip    Telephone   

Email Address    Fax Number   

 8) Will you cash checks in an amount greater than $1,000 for any person on any day in one or more transactions? _____Yes  _____No. If yes, send a 
copy of your Anti-Money Laundering (AML) Policy & Procedures and your most recent Independent Review to dfi@utah.gov. 

 9) Are you registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business? _____Yes  _____No. 

 10) Name of AML Compliance Officer    Telephone   

 11) Name of registered agent in Utah upon whom service of process can be made   

Address, City, State, Zip    Telephone   

 12) If you conduct the business of a check casher in Utah but do not maintain an office in Utah, please describe the manner in which the business is 
conducted (attach a separate page if necessary)   

 13) Are you or any principal officer (i.e. director, manager, or operator) currently under investigation for, charged with, have ever pled guilty or no contest to, 
or been convicted of, a felony or misdemeanor? _____Yes  _____No. If yes, please explain on a separate page. 

 14) Have you or any principal officer ever had an injunction, judgment, administrative order, or conviction of any crime involving moral turpitude? 
_____Yes  _____No. If yes, please explain on a separate page. 

 15) Have you or any principal officer ever had any licensing action taken against you that resulted in suspension, probation, or revocation? _____Yes  
_____No. If yes, please explain on a separate page. 

 
 
 

I hereby certify the information provided is true and correct and by signing this form, I represent our business practices will comply with Utah law. 

Name   

Date   Signature   Title   
 02/14 


